Pull a Forrest Gump

Today was stressful. Yes, I’m sure it could have been worse, but today I felt more on edge than Dennis Leary after 10 cups of coffee.

Now that the day is almost over, looking back, it really wasn’t that bad. I woke up late, I had a doctor’s appointment that ran much longer than I expected (because my doctor quit, and I was never notified! Is that a common practice these days not to notify patients when their doctors quit?), which put me behind at work and made the rest of that day frantic.

When I ran home to pick up lunch, I found out that Adam’s car still wasn’t fixed and isn’t going to be fixed until next week. We’ve been sharing my car for two weeks now, and getting up at 5:30 a.m. sucks worse than a New Year’s hangover.

By the end of the day, all I wanted was to go straight home and have some wine. The more stressed I am, the less desire I have to work out. But today, I just got the itch to run. So I did. And it was one of my best runs yet. I’ve ran three 11-minute miles a few times now, but today I ran three 10:40-minute miles. So with my warm-up and cool-down, I ran for 36 minutes on an incline of 1. (I’m getting closer to that 8-minute mile.)

Exercise Tip:
When walking or running on a treadmill, always set the incline to at least 1 (ideally 2, but I’m not there yet) to mimic the effects of being outside.

My very out-of-character desire to run reminded me of “Forrest Gump.” I can’t remember what the event is that sets him off to do his cross-country run (was it when his mom died?), but something in him just clicked, and he needed to run. So he did.

When Your World Is a Mess: Run

I spent all of today rushing and stressing rather than simply doing. My mind was always somewhere else or projecting ahead. But once I was running, all I could do was focus on my music, breathing, and putting one foot in front of the other. It was wonderful and horrible at the same time. No stress, no worries, no fears, just breathing, focus, and determination.

Love Without Question

Sure, you’ll get hurt over and over and over again, but you’ll be stronger, richer and happier for it.

Make Conversation With Strangers

Ask a custodian in your office about his family and how they are. Ask your grocery store clerk what her favorite recipe is and where she got it. Learning new tidbits about new people is refreshing.

Say the First Thing That Comes to Mind

Try not censoring yourself for a day. (Depending on your job, I wouldn’t advise this during a work day.) If you truly get into it, you’ll surprise yourself. You might find out you’re a complete judgmental bastard. Congratulations! You have something to work on about yourself!

Goals Update:
I accomplished all three of my most important things today:

  • I followed up on my freelance work submissions (more on this later).
  • I exercised.
  • I wrote a thank-you note.

Tomorrow’s 3 Most Important Things:

  • Email our wedding caterer and apologize for completely forgetting to call her tonight as I said I would.
  • Write a thank-you note.
  • Relax, take the night off, and have fun with friends.
This entry was posted in Fitness and Exercise Goals, Goals, Stress Management Goals and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Pull a Forrest Gump

  1. Mauri-ri says:

    Just so you know, the way you write things makes me laugh =P

    But yea, totally feeling you on the running thing, somedays it’s just good to run, as long as you come back I guess heh.

  2. Kadee says:

    You crack me up, I love this. Forrest Gump… so much for being and idiot or just plain stupid. lol. Sounds like he was on to something 🙂

Leave a Reply

