Are You Leading by Example?

“In bathrooms, boardrooms, buses, bagel shops, and everywhere else, we all need to imagine a little girl following us around, repeating everything we say and everything we do. Think about all the things you want for yourself and your daughters, granddaughters and girls everywhere – and teach them by living it yourself.”
– Nell Merlino, “Stepping Out of Line: Lessons for Women Who Want It Their Way in Life, in Love, and at Work”

This is another little nugget of wisdom from this month’s O (The Oprah) Magazine. What a great suggestion to help you keep your words and actions positive.

Had a little girl been following me around yesterday, she would probably be in a juvenile detention hall today. I drank too much, ate too much and suffered the consequences this morning when I woke up with a splitting headache. However, I did have a wonderful almost-four-hour phone date with a friend I hadn’t talked to in months and celebrated another friend’s birthday. So, in my book, the hangover was totally worth it.

The little girl would have had a pretty cake day today if she’d been following me around. To fight my hangover, I went on an hour-long run along our beach trail. I tried to look up how many miles I ran, but I couldn’t find out for sure. I’m estimating it was about five. It was my farthest run yet.

I had aspirations of cleaning the apartment when I got home, but I was so exhausted from my run, I took a nap instead. I’ve pretty much been a bum the rest of the day.

Not doing much feels awesome.

Back to the Little Girl
So, ultimately, if a little girl were following me around, how would she be doing? How well am I doing leading by example?

I take good care of my body (most of the time). I respect myself and others. I try to smile a lot and stay calm. I know the value of patience. I’ve discovered that happiness lies in simplicity and strive to create that in all areas of my life.

So, I’d say I’m doing a descent job so far carving out the life I want for myself, for us, and for our future family. It’s certainly not easy to keep chipping away, but now when I get discouraged, I can remind myself that my actions just might inspire some other girl somewhere.

What kind of shape would the little girl be in if she were following you around?

Goals Update:
I accomplished all three of my most important things for today:

Tomorrow’s 3 Most Important Things:

  • Work on my Cat Fancy freelance article.
  • Write at least one page on my book.
  • Exercise.
This entry was posted in Fitness and Exercise Goals, Happiness Goals, Life Lessons and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Are You Leading by Example?

  1. Mauri-ri says:

    That sounds like a good life building tip, but I think I would weird myself out haha.
    Yea, my little girl would end up a punk star

  2. Laura Lee Bloor says:

    Haha, oh your little girl would definitely be interesting!

  3. at276601 says:

    My little girl would definitely not go into journalism, if she had a brain in her head.

  4. Laura Lee Bloor says:

    I second that!

Leave a Reply

