Take the Self Challenge

I just got my latest issue of Self magazine and the 13th annual Self Challenge has begun! It’s a three-month diet and fitness program set to get you toned and in shape. It’s the perfect kick in the butt I need to really stay focused for getting in shape for the wedding and honeymoon.

I did the Self Challenge last year, but I don’t think I completed the whole thing. It does take a considerable chunk of time and dedication to log every meal, snack and workout for three months. However, it does work. I did lose weight … and put some of it back on.

This year, I don’t think I’m going to use all of the tools, but I definitely love that Self’s website provides a healthy grocery shopping list. I also use the website frequently for healthy recipes. In fact, today I made zucchini spice bran muffins.

What I did find amazing is that for me to lose two pounds per week, I need to burn 500 calories a day or 3,500 calories a week. Yowza!

Apparently, fitness experts agree that the best way to kick your metabolism into high gear and blast the most calories in the shortest amount of time is through interval training. I did it tonight at the gym on the elliptical while watching a little bit of the Oscars, but I only had time to do half an hour, so I only burned 300 calories. That’s definitely better than nothing, right?

Anyone want to join me in the Self Challenge?

Goals Update:
I accomplished all three of my most important things for today:

  • I worked on my Cat Fancy freelance article.
  • I wrote a page and a half of my book. (Man, that wasn’t easy! All I could think about the whole time while I was writing was what crap it all was.)
  • I exercised.

Tomorrow’s 3 Most Important Things:

  • Go to the 24Lift weightlifting class at my gym.
  • Work more on the freelance article.
  • Create a healthy meal plan for the week for us.
This entry was posted in Fitness and Exercise Goals, Freelance Work Goals, Goals and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Take the Self Challenge

  1. Crys says:

    I really suck at doing the Self challenge. I’ve actually been trying to use the tools and stuff on SparkPeople.com. I was pretty good for the first two days. But is screws me up because I like food and flavor and it’s such a pain in the butt to try and figure out how many damn calories are in my version of chicken marsala!

  2. Laura Lee Bloor says:

    Haha, I know what you mean about having to look up all the little twists you add to your dishes. Although, most spices and hot sauce and stuff don’t have any calories. I haven’t heard of SparkPeople.com. I’ll have to check that out. How’d you hear about it?

Leave a Reply

