My MBA Checklist

Tonight I met with a pre-admissions adviser at California State University, Fullerton to talk about its FEMBA (fully-employed master of business administration) program at its Irvine campus. She was helpful and gave me several pamphlets of information, but I think I still might go to one of the formal information sessions.

Why do I want to get an MBA you ask? Well, one of the WebMD benefits is tuition reimbursement, provided I keep a high GPA. So the way I see it, how could you not go to school if someone else is footing the bill? Plus, I really like school and classes; just walking around the CSUF campus gave me a little OU (Ohio University) nostalgia buzz. Oh, and the theoretical boost in pay once I have the degree is a nice incentive too considering one of my other major goals is to eliminate my mountain of debt.

After doing some research on FEMBA programs in Southern California, I decided on the Fullerton FEMBA at Irvine program. It’s mindboggling how much cheaper it is than some of the other schools. Take for example the University of California, Irvine’s FEMBA program. It’s roughly $75,000 for the whole program. CSUF’s is roughly $12,000 for the whole program. Yes, UC Irvine’s business school has a higher nationally-ranked program, but CSUF’s isn’t too far behind.

Before I can apply to the Fullerton FEMBA at Irvine program, I have to take calculus. I haven’t had a math class since my junior year of high school, so I’m more than a little concerned about this. I’m sure I’ll be fine though, as long as I get a really good tutor. I’m hoping to take it at Saddleback this summer. I’ll have to find out more on that later though. Besides taking calculus I also have to:

  • Submit my application and $55 application fee.
  • Send two sets of official transcripts from all my undergraduate schools.
  • Submit a background information sheet and statement of purpose.
  • Take the GMAT.
  • Have my official GMAT scores sent directly to CSUF.
  • Send in a copy of my unofficial GMAT score.
  • Provide three letters of recommendation.

My submission deadline is September 30 if I want to make the early filing period and October 31 for the general filing period.

Goals Update:
I was bad today. I only accomplished one of my three most important things.

  • I went to the meeting with the CSUF adviser.
  • I did not work on my Cat Fancy freelance article.
  • I did not look into alternate transportation for our guests.

Tomorrow’s 3 Most Important Things:

  • Because I’ve been slacking on my three most important things, I’m only going to give myself one important thing and that’s to work on the freelance article.

Lent Update:

  • The first day is the easiest. I’ve had no problems staying away from meat or red wine. I think I’ll only do an update on this weekly.
This entry was posted in Financial Goals, Goals, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My MBA Checklist

  1. at276601 says:

    (singing) Big deal Laura — she’s gonna buy a power suit…

  2. Laura Lee Bloor says:

    Hahaha, that song always makes me laugh!

Leave a Reply

