My New Masochistic 5 a.m. Goal

I’m not a morning person. At all. I have always been a night owl and probably always will function better late at night rather than early in the morning. I have vowed that I would never get up before dawn to exercise.

This week, I’m going to see if I can break that habit.

Mr. Man’s schedule forces him to be up and into work by 6 a.m., which means he has to get up at 5 a.m. That also means that he has to go to bed by 10 p.m. He generally works from 6 a.m. to 3 p.m. at the Orange County Register, and then he works Radio Shack from 4 to 8 p.m. several nights through the week. Even if he doesn’t have to work at The Shack, he still has to be in to The Register early. That means I only get to see him for a couple of hours because I usually don’t go to bed until midnight.

So in an attempt to get in sync with his schedule, my goal this week is to get up at 5 a.m. with him so I can go to the 5:30 a.m. gym classes. Tomorrow is my first 5:30 a.m. Strength Endurance Training (SET) class.

We’ll see how this goes …

Goals Update:
I accomplished my three most important things from the other day.

  • I exercised. (I’ve been doing short runs the last couple of days, but not yesterday since it was a holiday.)
  • I finished my CatChannel.com assignment.
  • I wrote a thank-you note.

Tomorrow’s 3 Most Important Things:

  • Go to the 5:30 a.m. SET class.
  • Accomplish a few wedding planning items.
  • Do laundry.
This entry was posted in Fitness and Exercise Goals, Freelance Work Goals, Goals, Habits and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to My New Masochistic 5 a.m. Goal

  1. Timory Wilson says:

    You accomplished one goal!! The 5:30 a.m. class. Yay! Four cups of coffee later and you are feeling … ?

  2. Laura Lee Bloor says:

    I’m feeling very, very tired. Ugh!

  3. Wendy Smith says:

    Good luck!!!

  4. Wow…in bed by 10 p.m.?! What’s THAT like?! I’m lucky if I see my pillow by 1:30-2 a.m.!! Joe stays up even later than that…and I like to spend as much time with him as I can, so I always end up staying up WAY later than I should.

    I used to think that getting up early would be the answer…but I am SO not a morning person, so I’ve decided rather than conform to what my current job asks of me (getting up early) I’ve decided I’m creating a job for myself where I can sleep in every single day. Yay to that!

    Can’t wait ’til May!

  5. Laura Lee Bloor says:

    Yeah, going to bed that early is very weird, especially for a fellow night owl. But I have two big motivating factors behind it: To be able to spend more time with Mr. Man (same reason as you end staying up later), and to get a full hour of exercise in and finished first thing in the morning.

    As I said, I don’t think I’ll ever be a morning person either. And I’ve only successfully gotten up at 5 a.m. and went to my 5:30 a.m. gym classes twice this week (which I’m still counting as a huge accomplishment!). It’s really hard, but I noticed doing it the second time was MUCH easier than the first, so hopefully that trend will continue.

Leave a Reply

