The Torture and Glory of 5:30 a.m. Workouts

Yes, my 5:30 a.m. workouts were grueling, but they have weight-loss benefits.

Yes, my 5:30 a.m. workouts were grueling, but they have weight-loss benefits. (Photo from Diets in Review)

I’m pleased to say that I did get up a little after 5 a.m. on Tuesday and Thursday of last week and went to the 5:30 a.m. gym classes. It was every bit as grueling and miserable as I thought it would be. However, exercising in the morning has serious weight-loss benefits: It jump-starts your metabolism and helps your body burn calories more efficiently, according to Matt Johnson, fitness and nutrition expert for Diets in Review.

On Tuesday, after my Strength Endurance Training (SET) class, I was a zombie almost all day at work. I fantasized the day away about curling up into a little ball and sleeping under my desk. But then, at around 4 p.m., I got a burst of energy. I finished out my work day strong, and then came home and did some around-the-house chores, and made dinner. I felt amazing. I felt so good, in fact, that I was actually looking forward to getting up early on Thursday. (I knew I needed a day of rest in between my workouts.)

On Thursday, I tried the Everlast Shadow Boxing class for the first time. While it certainly was a thorough workout, it wasn’t nearly as intimidating as the description made it sound. One of the drills was to jump rope. I don’t think I had jumped rope since high school — maybe even grade school! And let me tell you, jumping rope for 30 seconds to one minute gets really tiring after the first couple times.

Thursday at work, I had all kinds of energy throughout the day. In preparation to look amazing in my wedding dress and my new bathing suit for the honeymoon, I had my first tanning session right after work.

I don’t know if it was the tanning, or if my new early morning routine caught up with me, but when I got home Thursday evening, I was totally wiped out. I took advantage of my laziness to catch up on my favorite Thursday night shows. (“My Name Is Earl,” “The Office,” and “30 Rock.”)

Friday, I gave myself the day off again. Saturday, I went to the 10 a.m. yoga class. (My core is still sore from that class today!) And today, I went on a 45-minute (slow) run on the beach trail.

Tomorrow, I’m taking the day off again from working out, but I’m shooting to stick to my Tuesday and Thursday 5:30 a.m. classes. Although, this time, they’re at 5:45 a.m. and I’m switching out the SET class for a cycling class on Tuesday.

My hope is that the ridiculously early risings will get easier this week, and that I’ll have more energy all day rather than for half of the day.

In other big, breaking news: Mr. Man gave his two-week notice to Radio Shack!

Goals Update:
I accomplished my three most important things for today:

Tomorrow’s 3 Most Important Things:

  • Go to my dentist appointment.
  • Go to my tanning appointment.
  • Pick up ribbon to give to our wedding cake baker.
This entry was posted in Fitness and Exercise Goals, Goals, Wedding Goals and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The Torture and Glory of 5:30 a.m. Workouts

  1. You shouldn’t tan. It is really, really, really (REALLY) bad for your skin. Get a spray-tan instead! 🙂

  2. Laura Lee Bloor says:

    Yes, I know tanning is bad for you. I’ll be going the spray-tan route after this occasion. At least tanning beds are slightly easier on your skin than the actual sun, but believe me, I know it’s still not healthy.

  3. Timory Wilson says:

    Nice work going to the early classes! For some reason going to a class at 5:45 a.m. vs. 5:30 a.m. is easier. I swear the extra 15 minutes of sleep makes a difference. 🙂

    I might have to get up at 4:45 a.m. a few days this week to workout in the morning. I am still undecisive about it. Or I will workout at night and not have any free time. We’ll see …

  4. Katie says:

    Hi nice blog 🙂 I can see a lot of effort has been put in.

  5. at276601 says:

    I totally flaked on that yoga class, but I made it to the one this Saturday. Good for the mind and body.

Leave a Reply

