Fight Breast Cancer: Join The Breast Team Ever

Join The Breast Team Ever and help fight breast cancer.

Join The Breast Team Ever and help fight breast cancer.

That’s right: You too can be a part of The Breast Team Ever and help fight breast cancer. Here’s how:

  1. Sign onto www.komenoc.org
  2. Click on “Register Now,” which is located under the Race for the Cure® logo.
  3. When the Race for the Cure® page opens, click “Register Here.”
  4. Read the Waiver/Agreement and click on either “I agree.”
  5. Now select “Join a Team.”
  6. Type in our team name: The Breast Team Ever. The team number is attached to the name (2977).
  7. If you are a returning participant, you can use your password and username from last year to auto-fill the personal information section.  If you are new, simply type in your contact information.
  8. Fill out your billing information in the provided form.
  9. If you are making an additional donation, you can then choose to be listed by name, anonymously, or other and you can also select who the donation is “in honor of,” “in memory of,” or “in support of.”
  10.  You will be emailed a confirmation notice on your registration.

You must register by Sept. 11 to be on the Breast Team Ever. However, you can continue to give donations until race day: Sept. 27.

You don’t even have to run the 5K with us on September 27, 2009. You can select the option to “Sleep In for the Cure.” It costs $35 to Sleep in for the Cure and $30 to register to be part of the Breast Team Ever.

This is my second year participating in the Susan G. Komen “Run for the Cure” event in Newport Beach, Calif. However, this is my first year as Team Captain of The Breast Team Ever, and I couldn’t be more excited.

I will be running this 5K (3.2 miles) in honor of my grandma-in-law Alice Bougher who defeated breast cancer last year and my good friend’s mother, Donna Minor, who also is a breast cancer survivor. I wish everyone could meet these invigorating ladies!

I decided to become a team captain this year because I am unable to meet my goal of running the Turkey Trot in Dana Point, Calif., this Thanksgiving. This is the first year I will be celebrating Thanksgiving at my aunt and uncle’s place in Arizona. So I figured if I couldn’t do the one charity race, I had to do another one. In fact, I plan to make the Susan G. Komen “Race for the Cure” a yearly ritual.

Another goal I have for next year is to run a half-marathon with Team in Training. Team in Training is a half-marathon and marathon training program that benefits the Leukemia and Lymphoma Society whose mission is to raise funds to help stop leukemia, lymphoma, Hodgkin’s lymphoma, myeloma, and other blood cancers from taking more lives. I would like to run an event in support of my aunt, Barbara Valdez, who was recently diagnosed with myelofibrosis, a type of cancer similar to leukemia. She’s doing wonderful, so far!

I heard about Team in Training and the Leukemia and Lymphoma Society through my long-time friend, Kristen Stotts. She is my running inspiration, and she will be running the Nike Women’s Marathon with Team in Training this October. (That’s 26. 2 miles!) Please visit her website, and show her some support as well. In fact, I might have an inspiration interview with her coming up, so stay tuned!

In the meantime, if you can’t join our team, please donate. Remember that every little bit counts. So even if you can only contribute $5, that $5 puts researchers closer to their goal of a breast cancer cure that much faster. Click here to give a donation through my page.

May you be rewarded with good karma for your charity!

This entry was posted in Fitness and Exercise Goals, Goals, Volunteer and Service Goals and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

