The Breast Team Ever at the “Race for the Cure”

The Breast Team Ever in all their sweaty glory after running the Race for the Cure 5K (3.2 miles). The members are (from left to right): Adam Townsend (Mr. Man), Laura Lee Bloor Townsend, Kelly Hertzen (top), Jennifer White (bottom), and Connor White.

The Breast Team Ever members in all their sweaty glory after running the Race for the Cure 5K (3.2 miles). The members are (from left to right): Mr. Man, Laura Lee Bloor Townsend, Kelly Hertzen (top), Jennifer White (bottom), and Connor White. And yes, I ran the entire 5K with the wig.

This morning I ran (OK, jogged … OK, jogged with a soft “j”) with The Breast Team Ever in the 18th annual Susan G. Komen Race for the Cure event in Newport Beach, Calif. I’m always amazed at the thousands of people that show up for this event. This year, there were more than 30,000 people there, and it raised more than $2.5 million. (Read more about today’s race here from The Orange County Register — where Mr. Man also just happens to work.)

And speaking of fundraising, even though this is my first year as a team captain, I was so proud and pleased that we were able to raise almost $450! In addition to hitting up friends and family for some donations, we also had a lemonade stand yesterday that brought in about $300.

To be honest, I didn’t think we would make more than $50, but I was so pleased to be proven wrong and grateful that we had so many generous patrons.

So, a huge thank you to everyone who donated and helped us!

One of the reasons I think our lemonade stand was so successful is because we had a breast cancer survivor helping us. Our friend’s parents, Donna and John Minor, were visiting/vacationing here in San Clemente for the week, and Donna just recently celebrated being free of breast cancer for two years now. The Minors were also at the race this morning to cheer us on to the finish line. We ran our 5K in celebration of her and Mr. Man’s grandmother, Alice Bougher.

Even though I won’t make my goal of running the Turkey Trot this year, I completed another goal of being a successful team captain and am looking forward to doing it again and making the Race for the Cure event a yearly goal.

I also didn’t make the goal of having a 10-person team (We had eight, three of whom “Slept in for the Cure.”) or raising $1,500, but those were lofty goals for a first-timer. Next year, I know we can achieve those goals.

And I didn’t beat my race time from last year of less than 35 minutes. (I walk/ran it in about 48 minutes, as the race is self-timed.) However, this year, I had more friends with me and was happy to motivate others to do a little running with me. Plus, I have a bum left-knee and had to take it a little easy. (I get an MRI on Tuesday to see what’s going on under there. More on that later.)

Remember:  Keep your eyes open to goals you may be hitting when you’re “not achieving” others.

Enjoy some more photos below from our lemonade stand fundraiser yesterday and the Race for the Cure today…

Me, Laura Lee Bloor and breast cancer survivor and friend Donna Minor at our lemonade stand yesterday. It was the breast lemonade ever.

Me, Laura Lee Bloor, and breast cancer survivor and friend Donna Minor at our lemonade stand yesterday. It was the breast lemonade ever.

Mr. Man promotes the breast lemonade ever. Simply stunning.

Mr. Man promotes the breast lemonade ever. Simply stunning.

Kelly Hertzen crosses the finish line with flair as I clutch my wig and limp behind her.

Kelly Hertzen crosses the finish line with flair as I clutch my wig and limp behind her.

Mrs. Jennifer and Mr. Connor White celebrate the end of the Susan G. Komen Race for the Cure 5K. Oh yeah, the endorphins are flowing!

Mrs. Jennifer and Mr. Connor White celebrate the end of the Susan G. Komen Race for the Cure 5K. Oh yeah, the endorphins are flowing!

Did you enjoy this post? If so, please share it with others. Thanks!

Add to: Facebook | Digg | Del.icio.us | Stumbleupon | Reddit | Blinklist | Twitter | Technorati | Yahoo Buzz | Newsvine

This entry was posted in Fitness and Exercise Goals, Goals, Life Lessons, Volunteer and Service Goals and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to The Breast Team Ever at the “Race for the Cure”

  1. Enid (woo woo) says:

    Congratulations! I am so proud of you! Organizing a team is a lot of work! Your lemonade stand was soooo cute! Let me know what happens with your knee!

  2. Crys says:

    OK, I seriously love the photo of Mr.Man promoting the lemonade stand. I miss you two!!! And I’m proud of you!

  3. fatfrogpublishing says:

    I wish I lived there still! I SO would’ve been on your team. Honestly, I need to live by my friends again. Life just isn’t the same without you guys!

    Congrats on the race and on raising so much money!!

  4. Laura Lee Bloor says:

    Thank you so much, FFP! Yes, I wish you were back here too — it’s only a matter of time. You’ll be on The Breast Team Ever next year.

  5. Laura Lee Bloor says:

    Thanks Crys! It was so much fun — the way fundraising should be. Sorry for being a little flakey lately in the blogosphere, but I’m slowly getting back into it.

  6. Laura Lee Bloor says:

    Thanks! “You’re my inspir-ation!” The lemonade stand was really, really fun. I’ll let you know what’s up with my knee. It didn’t bother me during the run, but it’s sore today and so are both of my hips, which isn’t a good sign.

  7. Timory Wilson says:

    Congrats!!!

  8. Laura Lee Bloor says:

    Thanks, Timory!

  9. Merrill says:

    Way to go Laura (And Mr. Man)!!!!!!!!!!!

  10. K. H. says:

    Congratulations! That is such a great accomplishment and such a worthy cause to be supporting! That lemonade stand is a great idea! Would you mind if we tried using that in the future to help us raise funds for future Race for the Cures?

  11. Laura Lee Bloor says:

    Hey, K.H.,

    Thanks so much! By all means, if you want to do a lemonade stand — specifically the Breast Lemonade Ever lemonade stand — go for it! Good luck!

    Laura Lee

Leave a Reply

