A Free Budget Tool to Help You Reach Your Financial Goals

Having trouble sticking to your budget? Mint.com helps you reach your financial goals by keeping track of where and how you spend your money. You can set it up so that it alerts you when you're about to go over your budget.

Having trouble sticking to your budget? Mint.com helps you reach your financial goals by keeping track of where and how you spend your money. You can set it up so that it alerts you when you're about to go over your budget.

Ah, there’s nothing quite like feeling in control of your finances.

Mr. Man and I recently been having a problem sticking to our budget and staying on track with our financial goals. So tonight I set up an account with Mint.com, which is a free money management and budgeting tool. Learn more about how it works here.

I had read about Mint.com in a few different publications and all of them spoke highly of it. I also just recently had a friend recommend it to me, so I decided to try it out.

It took a good hour to set up, but that’s because I have so many accounts all over the place. It was very easy, just time-consuming. What I was most impressed with though, is that once you get all your accounts synched with Mint.com, it recognizes exactly where your money is going. For example, it knew that when I spent $26.16 at Trader Joe’s that it was for groceries.

Unfortunately, it’s going to take some time to adjust to my spending habits, but at least it’s all set up. Now, I’ll get email alerts if I’m about to go over budget.

Hopefully this will get us back on track with our financial goals, which is mainly reducing debt and building an emergency savings. Try it, and let me know what you think.

How do you stay on top of your financial goals?

Did you find this post helpful? If so, please share it with others. Thanks!

Add to: Facebook | Digg | Del.icio.us | Stumbleupon | Reddit | Blinklist | Twitter | Technorati | Yahoo Buzz | Newsvine

This entry was posted in Financial Goals, Goals and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Free Budget Tool to Help You Reach Your Financial Goals

  1. fatfrogpublishing says:

    I don’t stay on top of them 🙂

  2. Laura Lee Bloor says:

    Yikes! I know ignorance is bliss, but I don’t think that applies to this situation. I have to admit that it’s not fun to see the thousands of dollars of debt I have glaring at me, but it’s a great kick in the butt to stay on top of my finances more. Do what works for you though!

Leave a Reply

