Dr. Wayne W. Dyer’s Simple Method to Help You Achieve Your Goals

Dr_Wayne_Dyer

Learn a few simple tricks from Dr. Wayne Dyer to help you achieve your goals.

Let’s put aside the fact that I’m only a little more than 200 words into my 50,000-word NaNoWriMo goal for a moment. I read an article the other day that was so inspiring and interesting, I had to share it.

It’s part of Success Magazine’s Legend Series where different positive, influential people are interviewed about their success. This interview was with Dr. Wayne W. Dyer. Please read this interview; I promise it will put a smile on your face and a spring in your step. If not, feel free to harass me.

What it boils down to is that Dyer could have had a life of hostility, poverty and misery. Instead, he built a successful business (some might say empire) based on service. He was an orphan and grew up bouncing around various orphanages and foster homes in Detroit. Yet he learned early on that when you serve others, rewards come back to you. Serve now; money and success will follow later.

“To change the way you think about your life and create success for yourself, you need to put your attention not on what you want so much as on what you intend — what you intend to create, what you intend to manifest. When I sit down to write a book, I always have the publishers create a jacket for the book with the title on it, and I wrap it around a book that’s already written and I sit it on my writing space, and every single day, I assume this book is already completed. I think from the end always, and then I allow whatever needs to come through to complete it, to come through — that’s my secret. Use your imagination to assume the feeling of having your wish fulfilled. Begin with the end in mind,” Dyer says.

Brilliant!

Dyer also strongly advocates meditation to keep the ego in check. I, too, have been trying to incorporate more meditation into my daily routine and have been modestly successful in that goal. I like to meditate in the sauna or steam room at my gym after I exercise, but I only go to the gym about three times per week right now.

I can attest that meditation and visualization really have helped me become more relaxed and paradoxically more focused on my life goals.

There’s another passage in the interview with Dyer where he’s talking about how a woman once told him:

“Wayne, if you don’t want something bad to happen, or if you want good things for yourself in your life, be careful about what you think, for you will become what you think as sure as the dawn follows night. Always remember, thoughts are things.”

I used to roll my eyes at these kinds of statements, finding them too New Agey for my taste. But I’ve found as I’ve slowly embraced these various laws-of-attraction principles that they have a lot of merit. (Of course, I don’t mean to imply that I think positive thinking can end poverty or wars. I’m merely speaking on an individual level.)

What’s the overall tone or theme to the majority of your thoughts regarding your goals? Is it positive or negative? If it’s negative, flip those thoughts around until you find a positive spin. While you’re there, think about what your life would be like if the positive were true. Some examples:

  • “I’m always broke,” becomes “I have the opportunity to follow a minimalist lifestyle.” What will you do when you aren’t broke?
  • “I hate my job,” becomes “I am broadening my skill-set here, and that will help me in my new job search. What does your dream job look like?
  • “I’ll never find a good guy/girl,” becomes “I haven’t found the right person for me yet, but when the time is right, I will.” What qualities are you looking for in an ideal mate?

Flip your negative thoughts, visualize having what you want, and follow this experiment for one month. Please let me know your results!

Did you find this post inspiring? If so, please share it with others. Thanks!

Add to: Facebook | Digg | Del.icio.us | Stumbleupon | Reddit | Blinklist | Twitter | Technorati | Yahoo Buzz | Newsvine

This entry was posted in Fitness and Exercise Goals, Goals, Happiness Goals, Life Lessons, Spiritual Goals and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Dr. Wayne W. Dyer’s Simple Method to Help You Achieve Your Goals

  1. Interesting! I actually took a similar approach when writing Celebrity Soulmate! I sat for weeks without writing a single word, so I hand-drew what my book cover would look like and covered over one of the books on my bookshelf. Then I left the fake book I just made right near my writing area. It totally worked! Three months later the first draft of Celebrity Soulmate was finished!!

    Maybe I need to print out the official cover and make another fake book so I actually (finally) sit down and complete the re-writes I need to do in order to publish it!

  2. Laura Lee Bloor says:

    That’s awesome! I think that’s a great way to approach any big project (visualize the end and then work a little bit every day until you get there). Yes, please hurry up and get those rewrites finished — I want to get your book!

  3. Pingback: Play Ball! | Loretta Cella

Leave a Reply

