Annual Goal Review, Part 2: My Goals for 2010

What are your goals for 2010?

OK, so I realize part one of my annual goal review was a whopper of a post, and I’ll do my best to keep this one more brief. I hope you took the time to review your goals from this last year and found the process just as rewarding.

As I did with my goals from 2009, I found it helpful to break my goals down into categories. That may or may not work for you. My goals for 2010 are (and you can also find this page at the top of Tenacious Me):

Professional Goals:

  • Get at least a “B” or above in all my MBA classes. Read my MBA advice and tips.
  • Acquire at least double the readership of this year for Tenacious Me.
  • Switch Tenacious Me’s home from wordpress.com to wordpress.org.
  • Redesign the Tenacious Me banner.
  • Adhere to a posting schedule of two posts per week, Monday and Thursday.
  • Create a free e-book.
  • Start resume consulting service.
  • Secure a new, ongoing freelance writing position, if applicable.
  • Complete three chapters of my novel.
  • Continue brainstorming and gathering information for other side business ideas.

Relationship Goals:

  • Continue our “date night” at least twice per month.
  • Organize a reunion with friends at Ohio University this summer.
  • Call friends I don’t get to see on a regular basis more often.

Financial Goals:

  • Enroll in the nonprofit credit counseling service AAA Fair Credit Foundation to consolidate all our credit card debt and get our credit card interest rates lowered.
  • Build a sustainable emergency savings fund (one that we’re not dipping into every month or two).

Volunteer/Service Goals:

  • Write once a month to my sponsor sister through Women for Women International.
  • Fundraise for at least one charity event, most likely through a 5K or 10K run.
  • Restart my volunteering at Laura’s House.
  • Donate several bags of unused clothes and other items to charity.

Exercise and Fitness Goals:

  • Run one mile in under eight minutes. (At some point in time, I read that when you’re “in shape,” you can run a mile in eight minutes or less.)
  • Run at least one charity 5K or 10K. I’d like to do the Susan G. Komen Race for the Cure again and hopefully, this year I can do the Turkey Trot that helps the homeless in Orange County. (Read more about the Breast Team Ever and the 5K we ran.)
  • Exercise five to six days per week. (Remember: A 20-minute walk around the neighborhood counts as much as a one-hour gym class.)

Diet and Nutrition Goals:

  • Keep up the good work! Continue to add more fruits and vegetables to my meals.
  • Drink at least 16 ounces of water daily.

Spiritual Goals:

Happiness Goals:

  • Focus more on what I have accomplished instead of what I have not.
  • Practice daily gratitude.

Home Goals:

  • Redesign at least two rooms in our apartment.
  • Spend 10 minutes in the morning tidying before I go to work.

What are your goals for 2010?

Did this post inspire you? If so, please share it with others. Thanks!

Add to: Facebook | Digg | Del.icio.us | Stumbleupon | Reddit | Blinklist | Twitter | Technorati | Yahoo Buzz | Newsvine

This entry was posted in Diet and Nutrition Goals, Financial Goals, Fitness and Exercise Goals, Freelance Work Goals, Goals, Happiness Goals, Home Goals, MBA Goals, Productivity Goals, Relationship Goals, Spiritual Goals, Volunteer and Service Goals, Writing Goals and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Annual Goal Review, Part 2: My Goals for 2010

  1. Emily says:

    Here’s my post about my goals: http://flipflopforward.blogspot.com/2010/01/list-plunge-and-beginning-of-something.html

    I like the way you have broken your goals into different aspects of your life. Maybe that will help me with my “how many is too many” issue! I also found it interesting how you want to give clothes to charity. Last week, I filled an entire garbage bag with clothes for Goodwill. I just thought I was cleaning. I didn’t really think about it as helping others.

  2. Laura Lee Bloor says:

    Thanks, Emily! You probably help others more than you realize. The giving to Goodwill is just one example. (Nice job by the way!) I’ll make sure to check out your goals for this year, too, and check in with you on them.

  3. Rachael says:

    Wow! Your professional goals made me hyperventilate a little bit. But congrats on having such enthusiastic aspirations. I can feel your energy radiating through the computer screen and it’s completely inspiring. I can’t wait to see what 2010 brings for you!

  4. Laura Lee Bloor says:

    Thanks so much, Rachael! Truth be told, my professional goals make me hyperventilate a little bit, too! Aim high — that way you know you are challenging yourself. If I set all easy goals, that wouldn’t be any fun or challenge me. I had also hoped to run a half marathon with the Leukemia and Lymphoma Society this year, but I decided to back off on that one until next year since I would have been training at the same time as starting my first semester of the MBA program … and working full-time. Even I realized that was a little too intense.

    Anyhow, thanks again for the encouragement! I’ll be shooting support right back at ya!

  5. Timory Wilson says:

    I love your goals! You inspired me to write some of my own for 2010. So far they are on a sticky note, but I like your format and want to add some details to my goals. Miss you, Laura Lee!

  6. Laura Lee Bloor says:

    Yay! Thanks Timory — I’m eager to hear what your goals are. Miss you a ton, too!

  7. Hello Laura,

    We picked up your post through a Google alert. You are setting a great example by carving out specific financial goals in addition to your other life goals – it’s so important for individuals and families to make time for their finances on a regular basis.

    If you haven’t contacted us already, we hope you will do so soon. Thank you for the mention and link on your blog and best of luck in reaching all your goals.

  8. Laura Lee Bloor says:

    You’re welcome! We are still going over the documents from our representative Jenna Innis, but once we submit those, we should be all set. We’re really looking forward to finally getting in better control of our finances. Once we’re good to go, I’ll have a post about the enrollment process. Thanks for your interest!

  9. Bernice says:

    It may be way late to comment on your goals, but I just found your website. You mentioned your personal relationships goal: how about instead of “call friends on a regular basis,” which isn’t measurable, and “call all once a month,” which becomes more a burden than a fun event, try “Call one different friend each month on the first Saturday [or other good day].” At least by the end of the year you will have spoken to 12 or at least one! And you can always up the number — maybe one each Saturday. If you do that, you can award yourself bonus points!

  10. Laura Lee Bloor says:

    Thanks, Bernice! That’s true, I didn’t make the goal measurable, which you should always do so you can track your progress. At the time, I was trying to leave it more open-ended so as not to put too much pressure on myself for this goal. However, I like your advice, and I’ll give it a try! (And by the way, it’s never too late to comment on my goals!)

Leave a Reply

