Do You Feel Energized or Zapped?

Last week, I finally bought Pamela Slim’s “Escape From Cubicle Nation.” I’d heard about her book through various sources, but I couldn’t remember exactly where or who the sources were.

Also last week, I was going back through some upcoming projects I signed up for and discovered that Pamela Slim is the partner Chris Guillebeau is working with for his $100 Small Business Forum project that I signed up for in June.

What a pleasant surprise! I’m even more excited about the project now! Although, I hope I don’t keel over from exhaustion since during those 28-days I’ll be working full-time and taking a summer math class. (I’m still debating on the math class.)

If this sounds like something that’s up your alley, you can get more information here. (No, I’m not an affiliate, at least not yet anyway.)

Speaking of exhaustion though, I wanted to share a little nugget from Pam’s book that really jumped out at me:

A Note About Passion and Energy: Depleted vs. Spent

What many people don’t realize is that when you force yourself to do something you don’t want to do, you have to deplete the energy from your body to do it. When you make it through a week where you have forced yourself to do work you don’t enjoy, you will feel exhausted, drained, and in need of martinis, industrial-strength aspirin, and/or face-planted-in-pillow rest.

When you do things you love, your body generates energy naturally. You may work an equal number of hours, or more, than when doing work you don’t enjoy, but the difference is you will feel spent, not depleted.

Experiment with this concept in your own life and notice how much more quickly you bounce back from ‘work I love spent tired’ than from ‘work I hate depleted tired.’

I have to admit that I’m really struggling with my MBA program right now. I’m feeling extremely depleted tired, or zapped.

However, I realize that this first year will be the hardest, and it will get easier from here. Math and accounting have never been my strengths, and those are the hurdles I’m up against first.

Fortunately, the work I do with Tenacious Lee keeps me energized. So, hopefully, Chris and Pam’s seminar will keep me balanced.

When you are working toward your goals, do you feel energized or zapped? If you feel zapped, is it temporary or is it for a greater gain?

Most, if not all of your goals, should make you feel energized. If not, why are they on your list?

Add to: Facebook | Digg | Del.icio.us | Stumbleupon | Reddit | Blinklist | Twitter | Technorati | Yahoo Buzz | Newsvine

This entry was posted in Career Goals, Freelance Work Goals, Goals, Happiness Goals, Life Lessons, MBA Goals and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Do You Feel Energized or Zapped?

  1. jennifer says:

    I can totally identify with this. It’s actually been something I’ve thought a lot about recently (and I’ve been wanting to read “Escape…” for the last year!! You should also read: “Why Work Sucks and How To Fix It”–brilliant, brilliant book). Hating your job and having to go to work everyday anyhow really does drain you (and me). When I work on my blogs, health coaching or writing, I feel energized. I could literally work ’til 2 or 3 in the morning and not even care or notice. That’s the kind of work I want to be doing every day.

    Lucky for me, I’m not one of those people who settles or accepts mediocre… I’m continuing to pursue what I love doing so that I can do it every single day for the rest of my life.

  2. Laura Lee Bloor says:

    Thanks, Jennifer, I hadn’t heard of the book you mentioned. I don’t have a lot of time to pleasure read anymore, which is disappointing, but when I do, it’ll be nice to check that out.

    I know you’ll be working a job you love in no time — if anyone can do it, it’s you!

  3. jennifer says:

    Lucky me–I got to read “Why Work Sucks” as research for my job. I don’t think they’d quite count “Escape” in that same category, thou, haha!

Leave a Reply

