A Mother’s Day Gift That Improves the World

Help a mom on the other side of the world and celebrate your mom with a Women for Women International Mother’s Day card and donation.

With not only Mother’s Day approaching but also my mom’s birthday, finding a special gift (or gifts) is always a challenge. Plus, this year I have two new moms in my life that I want to honor — Mr. Man’s mom and grandma (You may remember Mr. Man’s grandmother, Alice Bougher, as one of the women we ran in honor of at the Susan G. Komen “Race for the Cure” 5K events.)

Fortunately, I just might have found the perfect Mother’s Day present. It helps you celebrate the amazing moms in your life and aid moms struggling to rebuild their lives and raise their families in war-torn regions. 

As I’ve mentioned before, I am a proud sponsor of Women for Women International, a nonprofit organization. Right now, they are offering Mother’s Day donations. When you make a Mother’s Day donation, Women for Women International sends a Mother’s Day card to the mom of your choice.

For more information, click here.

In honor of Mother’s Day, I also wanted to share just how much a donation or sponsorship means to the women and mothers living in war zones who receive them.

Here are a few quotes from the latest Women for Women International e-newsletter:

I wish that our children, especially the girls, can have their full rights … so that nobody will be just stepping on them.
–Women for Women International Rwanda, program participant

Economic progress will be what gives us the freedom, the freedom to care for our children and educate our children.
–Pricilla, Sudan

I am a mother who is trying to give happiness and everything to her daughter in spite of anything.
–Women for Women International Sudan, program participant

I am a single mother, I told my child about my sponsor friend, she knows I achieved all because of your sponsorship.
–Women for Women International Rwanda, program participant

My daughters give me happiness. I live for them. They are keeping me alive.
–Zikreta, Bosnia & Herzegovina

I want to make sure that my children continue with their education, for I was not able to continue with mine. And I think education is the salvation of the poor.
–Dorothy, Rwanda

For the future, I hope for peace.
–Jeanette, Democratic Republic of the Congo

Thanks for all your hard work, Moms! Happy Mother’s Day!

If you were inspired by this post, please share it with others and/or tell me what you thought. Thanks!

Add to: Facebook | Digg | Del.icio.us | Stumbleupon | Reddit | Blinklist | Twitter | Technorati | Yahoo Buzz | Newsvine

This entry was posted in Goals, Happiness Goals, Relationship Goals, Volunteer and Service Goals, World Improvement Goals and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

