A Quitting Challenge

Quitting isn't always wrong.

The other day, one of my favorite writers, Chris Guillebeau, did a fantastic interview with Dr. Sarah England, a woman on a mission to improve the world. Her way of improving the world includes helping to change people’s attitudes about smoking in China. She lives and works there promoting the health benefits of quitting smoking.

In the interview, Dr. England said, “If you want to be highly ineffective, quitting is the best thing you can do.”

Seeing as how I recently made the difficult decision to quit the MBA program, this phrase struck a nerve in me, and I said so.

Sometimes quitting is actually the more efficient thing to do, especially when you’re out to achieve big goals. When you forge new paths, you’re ultimately going to make some wrong turns. When that happens, the most efficient thing you can do is walk away from what’s not working, cut your losses, learn from your mistakes, and try a different approach.

Quitting intentionally is much different than giving up.

Giving up is when you stop because you have lost hope or lack the self-confidence to keep going.

Quitting intentionally is what smart, intuitive people do when they realize something isn’t right for them.

Yet, even when quitting is the right thing to do, it’s rarely easy. We’re often taught that if you quit, you’re a loser. Seriously, winners never quit, right? It’s often vilified right up there with cheating.

I’d like to help change that perception.

Join me in a “quitting challenge” to see just how many wasteful, inefficient things you can quit this week:

  • Quit making excuses for not going after your goals
  • Quit complaining
  • Quit doing things you hate
  • Quit putting off the things you love
  • Quit watching so much TV
  • Quit indulging people who suck precious energy from you
  • Quit comparing yourself to others
  • Quit wishing for more hours in a day
  • Quit desiring to look different than you are
  • Quit avoiding difficult decisions and questions
  • Quit neglecting your health
  • Quit gobbling down food
  • Quit muting your gut instincts

Alright, I know this list is just the beginning. What are some other things you can quit that will help you achieve your goals faster?

Add to: Facebook | Digg | Del.icio.us | Stumbleupon | Reddit | Blinklist | Twitter | Technorati | Yahoo Buzz | Newsvine

Thanks for sharing!

This entry was posted in Goals, Happiness Goals, Life Lessons, Productivity Goals and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to A Quitting Challenge

  1. Timory says:

    Hi Laura,

    I love this psot because it is so true. We can easily quit the things in life that bring us down (being negative, etc.) but should strive to achieve the goals that lift us up. I recently completed a 24-hour relay that I almost quit working toward a few weeks before the event b/c of a nagging injury. I am so thankful I kept going. It is b/c of you that I did it. The relay was on my 2010 Goals and although I’ve neglected some of my goals for this year, this relay was one I just couldn’t give up on. Thanks for helping me accomplish one of my favorite athletic events yet! I owe you!

  2. Kristen Stotts says:

    Quite spending money on unnecessary things:)

    Kristen

  3. iyasaffron says:

    I so want to quit TV. But TV producers nowadays are more hell-bent to create terrific shows with things they have to compete against. Worse, we now have internet forums where fans can rave/rant/discuss their fave shows endlessly.

    Then I realized that the trick is to make the reasons compelling enough. On my part, I would love to focus on having time for my parents. I wonder how many find themselves catching up on their latest TV shows and yet don’t even bother to visit nor even pick up the phone to know what’s going on with their own family. There could be no greater reason to give up TV than to create wonderful and lasting memories with your family.

    P.S. To those who may have previous issues that make parent-bonding a tad more challenging, you may find this article helpful http://sn.im/z1eiv.

  4. Laura Lee Bloor says:

    Thanks, Iya. I agree that the reasons have to be compelling enough for us to make changes. If people aren’t dissatisfied watching so much television, they have no reason to quit doing so. We come to different realizations when we’re ready. Here’s hoping we can make that happen faster for some people.

    Glad to hear you’re looking forward to spending more time with family, and thanks for passing along the article.

  5. Laura Lee Bloor says:

    Such a good one! Thanks, Kristen!

  6. Laura Lee Bloor says:

    Yeah, I saw that you finished the relay — that’s so awesome! Congrats! How’s your injury? All better, I hope. Glad to help out, and you certainly don’t owe me anything. If anything, I owe you — thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

