Falling Behind? How to Bounce Back

Ever feel as if you’re running from thing to thing to thing (and perhaps chronically late to everything if you’re me)? Lately my days rush by in a blur, and I’m sure I’m not alone in that feeling.

Between getting ready for The Breast Team Ever’s lemonade stand (featuring the Breast Lemonade Ever), catching up with friends, work, training for hospice volunteering, I left no time to take care of myself.

I knew I was in trouble on Sunday when I couldn’t take anymore celebrating and was practically crying for a nap at 4 p.m. I had a ton of fun hanging out with friends and watching the Steelers game at Ole’s, but I pushed my body too far.

I knew I needed to slow down, but I was too late. I woke up Monday morning with a sore throat.

But I don’t have time to be sick! That was my first thought. I had to go to work, keep up with my new exercise routine, continue working on the volunteer training, and even more important: Enjoy my birthday!

Fortunately, I listened to my body. While I did go to work, I rested all Monday night. For my birthday on Tuesday, I was able to enjoy the night out with Mr. Man, although I didn’t feel much better Wednesday morning. So once again, Wednesday night, I called it an early night.

I’m just finally getting back on my feet, and I already feel completely behind on my to-do list. However, if I had kept pushing myself, I would have ended up much sicker and possibly bedridden and even further behind on everything.

It’s easier to beat myself up for what I didn’t accomplish toward my goals than congratulate myself for what I got right.

So today, I’m not going to dwell on what’s left undone. I’m going to focus on what I’m doing right, which includes writing my weekly post, making a simple, healthy dinner for friends and enjoying the season premiere of It’s Always Sunny in Philadephia.

So, buck the trend with me: What are some things you did right instead of wrong today?

Add to: Facebook | Digg | Del.icio.us | Stumbleupon | Reddit | Blinklist | Twitter | Technorati | Yahoo Buzz | Newsvine

This entry was posted in Goals, Life Lessons, Productivity Goals and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Falling Behind? How to Bounce Back

  1. Crys says:

    Good job listening to your body. I often don’t listen to it too and then I wake up feeling like ick. I’ve been making sure to take time for me, even if it is with a pint of ice cream 🙂

  2. Laura Lee Bloor says:

    Speaking of listening to your body, what’s little Jacklyn saying to your body? I hope she’s treating her temporary home nicely!

Leave a Reply

