V-Day San Clemente 2011: ‘The Vagina Monologues’ Is Coming Soon

Have you read “The Vagina Monologues?” If not, do it immediately. It’s a short read, and I promise your vagina (or penis) will thank you for it.

If you have, then you know how powerful the book’s message is.

I first heard about “The Vagina Monologues” in college at Ohio University. I remember being intrigued, but I never read the book while I was in college. In fact, I forgot about it until I noticed it on our bookshelf at home. Turns out, Mr. Man had read it during college and liked the book so much, he kept it. Even he agrees: The book was not what he expected and should be required reading for all.

The first half of the book contains different stories about vaginas based on hundreds of interviews playwright Eve Ensler conducted with women of all backgrounds. Some are hilarious, some are heartbreaking, and some are profound.

The last half of “The Vagina Monologues” reveals how after performances, women would line up to meet Eve and share their stories of overcoming rape and abuse. Shocked and appalled at the ever-increasing numbers of women who came forward about their abuse, Eve and a group of other women started V-Day in 1998. Learn more about V-Day here.

V-Day’s mission is to end violence against women and girls worldwide. Anyone can get involved with this by volunteering with or organizing a local production of “The Vagina Monologues.” V-Day has grown to include other plays, performances, and documentaries, but after reading “The Vagina Monologues,” I knew I wanted to bring that to my community of San Clemente sometime early next year. (V-Day season runs from February through April, so somewhere in there.)

Literally the day after I finished the book a couple of weeks ago, I applied to organize a performance of “The Vagina Monologues” in San Clemente. If you follow me on Twitter, you probably saw that my application was accepted and how excited I was.

That elation quickly was replaced with panic, as I have absolutely no theatre experience.

But what I lack in experience I make up for with enthusiasm and passion.

If you’ve read my About Me page or any of my posts from the educational series on domestic violence and emotional abuse, you know that fighting violence against women and female empowerment is a cause dear to my heart. So naturally from my training and volunteering with Laura’s House, I knew this would be the perfect opportunity to give back to them by making Laura’s House the beneficiary for my V-Day San Clemente 2011 event. That means that 90 percent of the money raised from the performance will go to Laura’s House and 10 percent will go to the V-Day spotlight charity of the year, which for next year is the women and girls of Haiti.

It feels invigorating to have a passion project again.

In the meantime, if you live in Southern California and you think the V-Day San Clemente 2011: “The Vagina Monologues” sounds like a passion project for you, please contact me! I need all the help I can get!

And to those of you with theatre experience, what tips and advice do you have for me on how to put on a successful performance?

Add to: Facebook | Digg | Del.icio.us | Stumbleupon | Reddit | Blinklist | Twitter | Technorati | Yahoo Buzz | Newsvine

This entry was posted in Goals, Happiness Goals, Volunteer and Service Goals, World Improvement Goals and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to V-Day San Clemente 2011: ‘The Vagina Monologues’ Is Coming Soon

  1. melove54 says:

    Congratulations Ms Bloor! It’s a worthy cause and I’m sure your performance will be outstanding,..”break a leg” as they say!!

  2. Laura Lee Bloor says:

    Thank you so much, Melove! I hope it goes well. As I said, I have NO theatre experience so I’m really hoping to find an amazing group of people to help me. Next week, I will focus my efforts on recruiting volunteers.

Leave a Reply

