Passion Project 3: Freelance Writing for Patch

If you haven’t already visited Patch, go now. I’m really excited to be a part of this startup venture that aims to revitalize journalism and connect people to their communities.

I discovered Patch through my husband, Adam “Mr. Man” Townsend. He is the San Clemente editor. Fortunately for both of us, I submit my copy and report to his boss.

If you’re interested in freelance writing work, Patch is still hiring. Contributing to Patch just might be the passion project you’ve been looking for. (And this one you can actually get paid for!)

Even if you’re not interested in working for Patch, visit your local Patch page often! Get involved in your community, and do your part to make your hometown a better place to live.

Last week, I interviewed one of the owners of The Cellar, one of my favorite spots in San Clemente. It felt so comforting to be conducting an interview; I was back in my element. I realized I hadn’t done a single freelance interview all year! I also realized that I serendipitously completed another one of my goals for 2010: Secure a new steady freelance gig.

So stay tuned for more of my work to appear on San Clemente Patch!

Turkey Trot Update

If you follow me on Twitter, you saw how excited I was to finally run the Dana Point 10K Turkey Trot. (I’ve been trying to run this race for the last four years, and every year something prevents me from running.)

Well once again, my best efforts have been thwarted.

This time, the culprit is a sinus infection/bronchitis.

I went to the doctor yesterday and am on a slow recovery. No exercise for me for at least one week, doctor’s orders.

Mr. Man still plans to run (if he doesn’t catch my illness), so at least I get to go cheer for him.

As for the Turkey Trot, there’s still time to register if you’re in the Southern California area. Not in the area? Donate here.

And don’t worry if you’re not up for a 10K, they have a 5K as well. Remember, all proceeds from the Turkey Trot go to the Second Harvest Food Bank of Orange County: “Run so others can eat!”

Think about how great it will feel to completely indulge on Thanksgiving and not feel the least bit guilty!

Regardless of whether you make it to the Turkey Trot, here’s wishing you a Happy Thanksgiving!

Add to: Facebook | Digg | Del.icio.us | Stumbleupon | Reddit | Blinklist | Twitter | Technorati | Yahoo Buzz | Newsvine

This entry was posted in Fitness and Exercise Goals, Freelance Work Goals, General Health Goals, Goals, Happiness Goals, Volunteer and Service Goals and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Passion Project 3: Freelance Writing for Patch

  1. Slamdunk says:

    Sorry to hear about your illness and missing the race–that must be frustrating. Next year next year…

  2. Laura Lee Bloor says:

    Thanks, Slamdunk! Yeah, better to rest up rather than risk making myself more sick. Have you done a Turkey Trot before?

Leave a Reply

