Why I’m Organizing V-Day San Clemente 2011

It’s December, and I love the holidays so much more now that I don’t work retail. (Seriously, nothing will crush your Christmas spirit faster than working a retail position from November through January.)

It’s the time of year to think about others, and in that spirit, I’m reminded of why I felt almost instantly compelled to organize a V-Day production of “The Vagina Monologues” in my town of San Clemente.

Looking bad, my decision was quite rash. I have zero theatre experience, I’ve never seen “The Vagina Monologues” performed, and I’ve never taken on a goal remotely close to this size. Yet I knew I had to do it. I guess that’s why it’s a passion project. I have faith that — with a lot of hard work and help — everything will come together.

My decision to organize a V-Day San Clemente 2011 production of “The Vagina Monologues” was based solely on having read the book and watching this talk given by Eve Ensler, author and playwright of “The Vagina Monologues”, at a TED event. May it inspire you the way it did me.

I’m also pleased to report that things are moving along. I have found a group of excellent volunteers to help me put on this production and our first meeting is this Sunday.

If you haven’t seen the play or read the book of The Vagina Monologues, please do so. Bring V-Day to your town or if there already is a V-Day production in your town, get involved. It’s a small yet powerful way to help improve the world.

This entry was posted in Goals, Happiness Goals, Volunteer and Service Goals, World Improvement Goals and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

