A Little Background About Me You May Not Have Known

Me playing tennis at the Ohio State Championship tennis tournament for Lexington High School in 1999.

Happy 2011, Everyone!

I was all set to work on my annual goal review at the end of last month, but between writing for Patch, working on V-Day San Clemente 2011: “The Vagina Monologues,” and visiting family and friends over the holidays, I failed.

And I’m OK with that.

I had one of the best trips home ever. I saw almost everyone I set out to see and was there to help my friend Kate Thorn find her perfect wedding dress and bridesmaid dresses.

So the bad news is that I’m way behind on Tenacious Lee.

The good news is that I am loving my freelance position as the health and wellness columnist for San Clemente Patch. (Reminder: Patch is still hiring writers!)

Here’s a snippet from my first column:

I’ve always been moderately healthy. I grew up in Lexington, Ohio, with a mom who held a degree in nutrition and a dad who encouraged me to play tennis. My older sister played tennis and was a runner, so I was fortunate that well-balanced meals and exercise were healthy habits instilled in me from childhood.

Then came college at Ohio University.

While working toward my degree in magazine journalism, I was more than happy to help the college maintain its prestigious Princeton Review ranking among the top five party schools in the nation. It turns out that a diet based on D.P. Dough calzones and Natty Light is not offset by an occasional half hour on an elliptical machine. Continue reading …

How was your holiday?

Add to: Facebook | Digg | Del.icio.us | Stumbleupon | Reddit | Blinklist | Twitter | Technorati | Yahoo Buzz | Newsvine

This entry was posted in Freelance Work Goals, Goals, Happiness Goals, Volunteer and Service Goals, Writing Goals and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Little Background About Me You May Not Have Known

  1. Timory says:

    I’m glad you had a fun time at home! 🙂 Ryan and I are planning on reviewing our 2010 goals and making 2011 goals this week. Thanks for the inspiration. 🙂

  2. Laura Lee Bloor says:

    Aww, that’s awesome, Timory! Yeah, my goals for 2011 are coming soon, but first I need to finish the review of 2010. I can’t wait to see you and am so excited for you!

Leave a Reply

