4 Nuggets of Wisdom From the Dalai Lama

Photo courtesy of the Center for Living Peace

The Dalai Lama with Kelly Smith, founder of the Center for Living Peace. (Photo courtesy of the Center for Living Peace)

A couple of weeks ago, I had the pleasure of listening to the Dalai Lama speak at the Center for Living Peace. (You can watch the live video here.)

It had been one of my spiritual goals to hear the Dalai Lama speak for several years. (Another one of my spiritual goals is to see him speak in person some day and meet him.)

Although I couldn’t attend the actual event, I was struck at how the Dalai Lama’s playful energy came across just listening to him while I was at work. He brightened my entire day.

A few of my favorite pieces of wisdom from the Dalai Lama included:

Understand the Law of Causality

When you give positive thoughts and actions, you get positive thoughts and actions in return. Conversely, when you give negative thoughts and actions, you get negative thoughts and actions in return.

We Are All the Same

We are all human beings. Every one of us experiences greed, jealousy, and doubt. We can all relate to one another based on this commonality.

‘Warm-heartedness’ Is the Path to a Peaceful Society

For the world to be a better, more peaceful place, changes need to come from everyone. Politicians, educators, the media, business people, families — everyone has a responsibility to exhibit more peace and compassion.

Honesty and Truth Are Essential to Peace

A lot of anxiety is based in fear and distrust. If you stay honest and truthful, anxiety is reduced, creating a peaceful, genuine atmosphere. When you remain true and honest, you have less stress and anxiety and more inner joy.

Are you being honest and true to yourself and those around you? How do you create more peace and joy in your life?

Add to: Facebook | Digg | Del.icio.us | Stumbleupon | Reddit | Blinklist | Twitter | Technorati | Yahoo Buzz | Newsvine

This entry was posted in Goals, Life Lessons, Spiritual Goals and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 4 Nuggets of Wisdom From the Dalai Lama

  1. Two words: Morning Mediations!! For the last 5 months I’ve been doing 10 minutes of meditations first thing in the morning and my entire life has shifted. I found two amazing videos on YouTube that guide you through the mediation process and I listen to them both each morning right after I wake up. Totally life-changing.

  2. Laura Lee Bloor says:

    Ah, so glad to hear you’re following through on it! I’ve been saying I’m going to do that for what seems like years. However, I always end up hitting snooze instead. At least now that we have a spiritual center near us, I go to mediation classes almost every Tuesday evening. I absolutely love them!

Leave a Reply

